Does Beer have Gluten?

This article is dedicated to all the foodies and beverage freaks out there who are currently on a gluten-free diet. We do not aim to break your heart but it is a true fact that most of the beers do contain gluten. Beers mostly contain gluten because they are made from malted hops and barley or wheat. It is a very common fact that both wheat and barley contain gluten. 

If you are a beer lover, this news may break your heart but we also have a way out for you. There are several companies that make delicious gluten-free beer for people like you. If you drink them you’ll hardly notice any difference between them and the usual ones. 

Does Beer have Gluten

Which brands make gluten-free beers?

  • Glutenberg
  • Autumn brewing co.
  • Moonshrimp Brewing
  • Alpenglow Beer Company Buck Wild Pale Ale
  • Ghostfish brewing
  • Alt Brew
  • Guten beer
  • New Planet

Glutenberg is the most popular and commonly loved gluten-free beer among all the above-mentioned companies. The beers glutenberg makes are made up of 1005 gluten-free ingredients. The company does not allow any gluten-containing ingredients in the brewery to prevent cross-contamination. The beers are also sulfite free and vegan. 

Does Beer have Gluten

Is gluten-free beer safe for health?

According to health reports, the so-called gluten-free beer is not safe for people with celiac disease. The group of people who are gluten intolerant has raised this concern after testing some of the gluten-free beers. They were doing a survey to test the reactivity of beer with antibodies from human blood. 

40% of the celiac patients reacted critically to barley and the other half reacted to gluten-removed beer. 

What are the alternatives to gluten-free beer?

If you are fond of alcoholic beverages and do not want to be stuck to beer then you have a lot of other options as well. If you are intolerant to gluten or on a gluten-free diet, you do not need to be upset about missing out on anything. There is hard soda, vodka, sparkling water, and a lot of other things that make beautiful alcoholic cocktails. 

Does Beer have Gluten

What are the gluten-free alternatives?

  • Fiesta Mule
  • Frozen sangria
  • Tommy bahama Pomegranate Mimosa
  • Spiced cider cocktail
  • Rum root beer float
  • Pineapple green chile margarita 

What exactly is gluten?

The proteins found in wheat are called gluten. It is not only found in wheat but also in barley and rye. The Celiac Disease Foundation has acknowledged that gluten helps to keep the shape of the food like glue so that food is held together and we Gluten is found in various kinds of food.

There are many people who choose to maintain a gluten-free diet because of celiac disease and some avoid gluten because they are health conscious. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that reacts to gluten like poison. The parts like the small intestine are affected badly if someone with celiac disease consumes gluten. 

Summary of Does Beer have Gluten

Beers mostly contain gluten because they are made from malted hops and barley or wheat. It is a very common fact that both wheat and barley contain gluten. There are several companies that make delicious gluten-free beer for people like you. If you drink them you’ll hardly notice any difference between them and the usual ones. Glutenberg is the most popular and commonly loved gluten-free beer among all the above-mentioned companies. The beers Gutenberg makes are made up of 1005 gluten-free ingredients. According to health reports, the so-called gluten-free beer is not safe for people with celiac disease. The group of people who are gluten intolerant has raised this concern after testing some of the gluten-free beers. They were doing a survey to test the reactivity of beer with antibodies from human blood. If you are fond of alcoholic beverages and do not want to be stuck to beer then you have a lot of other options as well. There is hard soda, vodka, sparkling water, and a lot of other things that make beautiful alcoholic cocktails. 

Read More: What is Root Beer Made of? Unknown Facts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This
Scroll to Top